Liebster Award Nomination

==Liebster Award Nomination==

First of all I’d like to thank Dancing Through the Pages for nominating  me for the Liebster Award! I’ve made this book blog for nearly a week and I’ve already made friends – yay! (EDIT: I also got nominated by thebodaciousbookbabe so thank you for that!)

The Liebster award is basically a way of getting to know blogs with 200 or less followers (that’s me!). Whoever created it – a big clap on the back for you and THANK YOU! (:


 

Here are the rules:

Link and thank the blogger that nominated you

Answer the 11 questions your nominator gives you

Tag 11 other bloggers who have 200 or less followers

Ask the 11 nominated bloggers 11 questions and tell them you’ve nominated them


 

Onto Kelly’s 11 questions:

1. What was the last book that made you cry?

The Blood of Olympus. I cried when I got it, and I cried when it ended.

2. What is a really underrated book that you would love to see on the big screen? Why?

Wow, this is actually pretty hard! I’d love to see the Throne of Glass series on the big screen, but that’s pretty popular and I’m sure it’s coming. Next is probably Eon. I don’t think that’s underrated though either. Anyways, they both have *AWESOME* protagonists and a gripping plot and I’m sure it’ll do well on screen.

3. What is something in a book that has to be well-done for you to like it? (For me, it’s characterization.) Is it plot, setting, characters, etc?

Depends on the genre, but for fiction: Firstly, the book needs an engaging plot. A book with no plot is like an apple without a core. Then the characters. I won’t waste my time reading about whiny / fake / stupid characters. They need to be real and understandable, so I can connect to them, stand in their shoes and feel what they’re feeling. Another important one for me is grammar/spelling/writing. I tend to stop concentrating on reading when I pick out a grammar error. It’s like, “You put so much effort into publishing it and there’s an error?!” I almost feel sad 😦 And I hate it when the writing is repetitive. Like hello, there’s a thing called The Thesaurus!

4. Is there a book that you consider your guilty pleasure? If so, why?

Hmm…this is a hard one….probably one of those kiddie books that are really [lame] for people my age but I still cry and laugh over them just for the sake of it. For instance, I’m pretty sure I’ll still read the Rainbow Fairies and root for the fairies to win. Or those books that you know are badly written or cliché but you still like reading them because of, well, because. I don’t even think I’m making sense right now. But you get the idea.

5. What is your favorite book setting? (Stuff like this -> Fantasy AU, Boarding School, Hollywood, New York, Foreign Countries, etc.)

Definitely Fantasy AU. Second is (tentatively) a high school setting if it’s done right because I’m in high school now and I can sooooort of relate to it.

6. What is a book that you want to read purely for the cover?

I wanted to read Snow Like Ashes, but you see how that turned out. Never judge a book by it’s cover! But I guess my next pretty-book-cover target is Talon by Julie Kagawa. I haven’t read any books by her but I’ve seen mixed reviews so I’ll see how it goes (:

7. Is there a book that you’ve tried to read innumerable times but have never been able to finish? What is it?

Heh, not really because I try my best to finish every book I read. It’s the best I can do to show the author the respect that s/he deserves and you know, everybody has different tastes and whatnot so I always to my best to *try* and view each book in a positive light. The closest book I’ve come to DNFing is probably Twilight a few years ago. I feel sorta ashamed that I finished it tbh, but my friends kept nagging me so it took me a record six months to get through it. Man, just thinking about it gives me bad memories.
“you’re cold and shiny”
“i hate your scent”
“i love you”
“i could eat ya right now”

8. What is your OTP (One True Pairing)?

My three OTPs are: Percabeth. PercyxAnnabeth. Percaabeeeeeth. Nuff said.

9. Why and when did you start your book blog?

I started my book blog roughly a week ago, because I’ve always wanted to share my opinions about books and decided a book blog was the best way to go! It also serves as a healthy place for me to rant if needed 😉

10. If you estimate, what is most books you’ve ever checked out from your library?

Six at a time. I was super cool and proud too, because the limit was actually 4 but I got voted as the library monitor so I could borrow 2 more than the norm. ❤

11. What is your favorite type of post to write for your blog?

Reviews! (because I get to use my GIFS)


 

Whew! Now onto the nominations! I’m passing it to these 11 awesome peeps:

Sarah in Wonderland

Thunder Tumbler

Cat and Caterpillar Reviews

insidemybookshelf

Bookaholic’s Blog

PhantomhiveSky

Cup of Crazy

bongbongbooks

Bookworm Coalition

PriyankaReads

fatimaandhooriyaread

And if you’ve done it, then it just means that you’re extra awesome. If you haven’t then you should! It’s fun! Here are my 11 questions:

1) Which book you would recommend to anyone?

2) What is your favorite quote from a book?

3) Who is your favorite author and why?

4) How do you usually read your books (ebook, audiobook, paperback, etc)?

5) If you could be a character from a book, who would it be and why?

6) What is a book that you’ve been disappointed in?

7) Have you ever gotten signed copies of books? Which ones?

8) What is your favorite genre to read?

9) What is the worst “school book” (books for school or are common in school curriculums) you’ve read?

10) Do you judge a book more by it’s cover or blurb?

11) Why did you start your book blog?


Happy reading, answering, tagging, etc.!

~Karen

 

 

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award Nomination

Leave a Comment